Back to Course

Seeking the Family of God

  1. Am I In Christ?
    7 Digging Deeper
  2. What is the Kingdom of God?
    3 Digging Deeper
  3. What is the Church?
    5 Digging Deeper
  4. Why Are There So Many Different Christian Religions?
    6 Digging Deeper
  5. How Can I Know the Will of God?
    4 Digging Deeper
  6. How Do I Pray?
    5 Digging Deeper
  7. What is Worship?
    6 Digging Deeper
  8. What is the Significance of the Lord’s Supper?
    5 Digging Deeper
  9. How Do I Become Like Christ?
    6 Digging Deeper
  10. What if there is no New Testament Church Near Me?
    5 Digging Deeper
Lesson 7, Digging Deeper 4
In Progress

What does our personal spiritual worship to God look like when one follows the standard set in the New Testament?

We have been “born again” by our obedience to the truth (John 3:3-5). We live new lives that are cleansed from sin and freed from guilt (Romans 8:1). We say with the Apostle Paul, “I have been crucified with Christ. It is no longer I who live, but Christ who lives in me. And the life I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me” (Galatians 2:20). We live for the praise and glory of God. We are attached to Jesus like a branch is attached to the vine. Without him we could do nothing (John 15:1-5).

We love God with “all our heart, soul and mind” (Matthew 22:37). Because our bodies are temples of his Holy Spirit (I Corinthians 3:16), we live holy lives and “cleanse ourselves from every defilement of body and spirit” (2 Corinthians 7:1). The mercies of God compel us to “present our bodies as living sacrifices, holy and acceptable to God which is our spiritual worship (or rational service)” (Romans 12:1-2). We are being transformed (metamorphosed) by the renewal of our mind into the image of Jesus (2 Corinthians 3:18).

Since Jesus Christ is our life, we set our minds on things that are above (Colossians 3:1-4). We put to death the works of the flesh and put on the qualities of Jesus (3:8-17). We strive to grow in the fruits of the Holy Spirit: “Love, joy, peace, patience, kindness goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control” (Galatians 5:16, 18, 22-23, 25). We live our lives “doing justice, loving mercy and walking humbly with God” (Micah 6:8, referenced by Jesus as “justice, mercy and faithfulness” in Matthew 23:23). A kindergartner said this meant, “Play fair, be nice, and obey God.”